

Part-Time Faculty Council

http://ptfc.kennesaw.edu

Meeting Minutes – December 5, 2022

I. Welcome

James Stinchomb was unable to attend. Vice President Diana Honey presided over the meeting. *Diana Honey called the meeting to order at 3:31 PM and began recording at that time.*

II. Parliamentarian

Christopher Thompson provided an overview of Robert's Rules of Order as they apply specifically to the bylaws of the PTFC. All voting members should reference the Cheat Sheet located in the Teams files if they need any clarification on specifics related to Roberts Rules of Order and their use in PTFC meetings. Christopher also provided some additional tips on the application of Roberts Rules of Order when conducting formal meetings in a virtual setting. This information is also located in the Cheat Sheet referenced above.

Christopher informed everyone that there is a 15-day window for items discussed and voted upon that you may want brought back to the floor for future consideration. After 15 days from the day of the initial meeting, motion, and/or vote, the motion and result of the vote become permanent.

III. Review of Minutes - Secretary

Meeting minutes for August, October, and November were brought to the council for approval by PTFC Secretary, Walt Justice.

For August meeting minutes, Walt Justice solicited changes, revisions, and/or additions for these minutes. None were given by the attendees. From that, Walt requested a motion to approve the minutes as presented. The motion was put forth by Peggy Hutcheson and seconded by Yvonne Wichman. The motion carried unanimously, and the August minutes were entered into the permanent record as presented. For October meeting minutes, Walt Justice solicited changes, revisions, and/or additions for these minutes. None were given by the attendees. From that, Walt requested a motion to approve the minutes as presented. The motion was put forth by Ginger Sinton and seconded by Cleopatra Iliescu. The motion carried unanimously, and the October minutes were entered into the permanent record as presented. For November meeting minutes, Walt Justice solicited changes, revisions, and/or additions for these minutes. None were given by the attendees. From that, Walt requested a motion to approve the minutes as presented. The motion was put forth by Jeannie Newton-Riner and seconded by Faisal Mirza. The motion carried unanimously, and the November minutes were entered into the permanent record as presented.

IV. President's Update

Diana Honey had no update regarding Faculty Senate. This update was deferred to the PTFC January meeting where James Stinchcomb would be present and available to provide this update. Regarding the Chief Diversity Officer search, Diana pointed out that there was a link to the webpage where information related to this search could be found and that the link was located in the meeting agenda. Diana encouraged those interested in this search to access the link.

V. New Business

Diana notified everyone that KSU Today is still not functioning due to changes with the vendor. Diana announced the appointment of the new Provost, Ivan Pulinkala, and encouraged everyone to visit the link provided in the meeting agenda to read more about this appointment. Mandy McGrew added that Ivan was a staunch advocate for part-time faculty when he served as Department Chair for dance in the College of the Arts (COTA) and that she hoped his advocacy for our role at the university would continue.



Diana mentioned the compensation study and the associated announcement that was sent to the campus community. The understanding is that the current phase of this study only applies to full time faculty. It was also mentioned that this would be a good opportunity for the Policies and Compensation Committee to ensure that part-time faculty are included in future phases of this study.

Regarding compliance training, Diana reminded everyone of the Cleary Act and Title IX trainings that are currently due. Diana mentioned that there were two different Cleary Act trainings, one from UITS and one from the vendor, EverFi. Currently, everyone is responsible for completing both trainings for the Clearly Act as well as the Title IX training in OwlTrain.

VI. Old Business

Each of the four committee chairs provided brief descriptions of their committees.

- Policies & Compensation/Legislative Committee (Chair Diana Honey)
- Shared Governance & Inclusion (Chair Walt Justice)
- Communication (Chair Christopher Thompson)
- Parking (Chair Yvonne Wichman)

Committee chairs will present their goals for the upcoming year at the January meeting and then begin working with any participants that volunteer to serve on a committee. Chairs will reach out to volunteers after the meeting to establish meeting times and other details related to committee work.

VII. Announcement & Questions

- Mandy McGrew confirmed that applications for the Teaching Academy for Part-time Faculty opened December 5th, explained the opportunity and encouraged anyone interested to apply. Mandy also announced that the deadline for applications is February 3, 2023 and that applicants would need to complete the application found on CETL's website. Applicants also need to complete the Payroll Amendment Form, which has to be signed by the applicant's department chair.
- Diana Honey reminded everyone to visit ptfc.kennesaw.edu for information and schedules of upcoming PTFC meetings.
- Yvonne Wichman provided an update on funds available to part-time faculty in the RCHS. Yvonne mentioned that she was able to secure 500.00 for a future conference and encouraged all RCHS part-time faculty to apply for these funds.
- Mandy McGrew informed everyone on the USG's Teaching and Learning Conference coming up in March.
- Brianna Warren, part-time instructor in Marketing and Sales asked about mandatory office hours being required of part-time faculty.

VIII. Adjournment

Diana Honey requested a motion to adjourn at 4:18 PM. A motion was put forth by Yvonne Wichman and seconded by Ginger Sinton.

James Stinchcomb	President	<u>Jstinch2@kennesaw.edu</u>
Diana Honey	Vice President	dhoney@kennesaw.edu
Walt Justice	Secretary	jjusti15@kennesaw.edu
Michael Perry	Immediate Past President	mperry@kennesaw.edu
Christopher Thompson	Parliamentarian	cthom538@kennesaw.edu
Yvonne Wichman	Representative-at-Large	ywichman@kennesaw.edu