

Part-Time Faculty Council

http://ptfc.kennesaw.edu

Meeting Minutes – January 30, 2023

I. Welcome

President James Stinchcomb provided a brief welcome to all attendees and called the meeting to order at 3:30 PM

James Stinchcomb called the meeting to order at 3:01 PM and began recording at that time.

Each member of the executive committee provided a brief introduction of themselves as part of this being the first meeting of the new year and we did have some new representatives joining us.

- Executive Committee
 - o James Stinchcomb President
 - o Diana Honey Vice President
 - o Walt Justice Secretary
 - O Christopher Thmpson Parliamentarian
 - Yvonne Wichman Member-at-Large

II. Review of Minutes - President

Meeting minutes for December were brought to the council for approval by PTFC President, James Stinchcomb.

For December meeting minutes, James Stinchcomg solicited changes, revisions, and/or additions for these minutes. None were given by the attendees. From that, James requested a motion to approve the minutes as presented. The motion was put forth by Yvonne Wichman and seconded by Diana Honey. The motion carried unanimously, and the December minutes were entered into the permanent record as presented.

III. President's Update

James Stinchcomb provided an update from Faculty Senate. Three motions were brought forth at the January Faculty Senate meeting.

- 1. Academic Integrity Policy
 - a) See January meeting minutes from Faculty Senate for more information
- 2. Intellectual Property
 - a) James reminded everyone that anything produced while working as an employee of Kennesaw State and/or created using KSU resources is actually the intellectual property of KSU and not the creator. This is also outlined in the USG Bylaws
- 3. WF and Incomplete grades
 - a) There is concern amongst the faculty senate that the graduate and undergraduate policies related to WF/I are inconsistent and the Senate is looking to revise the language to equalize the policies for each level.
 - b) Senate is also looking at revising the WF policy to an F policy. This was discussed but would need to be approved through other channels before becoming official.
 - c) President Schwag and Provost Pulinkala provided updates to the Senate.
 - a See Senate meeting minutes for details (linked above).

IV. New Business

Diana shared information related to Kahoot and licensing at the university. According to Diana, 500 licenses are available for faculty use. These licenses may be specific to the RCHS. Check with your department chair about Kahoot in your college if you are interested in using this tool in your course(s). Diana also shared information about a new library browser extension that allows you to directly check and see if a book you want to use in your course is available from the KSU library.



Diana also announced that the D2L .stu accounts are being eliminated by UITS and a more accurate student view is being provided for faculty role switching within D2L.

Diana announced some professional development opportunities

- 1. Sustainable Course Design
- 2. Accessibility Workshop and Webinar
- 3. Department of Distance Learning is offering to conduct accessibility reviews for courses.
 - a) Contact them to schedule a time.

James Stinchcomb reminded everyone present to check OwlTrain for current compliance training requirements.

V. Old Business

James Stinchcomb reminded all participants of the current PTFC committees along with their associated Committee Chairs.

- Policies & Compensation (Chair Diana Honey)
- Shared Governance & Inclusion (Chair Walt Justice)
- Communication (Chair Christopher Thompson)
- Parking (Chair Yvonne Wichman)

Legislation has been dropped from the Polices and Compensation committee due the Chancellor's memo regarding political lobbying and being a USG employee.

Shared Governance and Inclusion Committee is waiting to hear from Provost Pulinkala before moving ahead with any goals or agenda for the current academic year.

Christopher provided additional information related to the upcoming PTFC newsletter and requested that representatives send him relevant information that could be included in the newsletter.

James advised PTFC representatives to reach out to their respective department chairs to gauge the chair's willingness in allowing representatives to attend their departmental faculty meetings.

Yvonne Wichman provided an update on the Parking Committee.

- Current parking pass fee for PTF is 23.00.
- Yvonne has a meeting with Dr. Smiley, Director of Parking, and will provide an update at the February PTFC meeting.
- Yvonne will now be attending the university parking committee meetings and will provide a voice for PTF teaching on campus.

VI. Announcement & Questions

- Mandy McGrew reminded attendees that applications for the Teaching Academy for Part-time Faculty opened December 5th, explained the opportunity and encouraged anyone interested to apply. Mandy also announced that the deadline for applications is February 3, 2023 and that applicants would need to complete the application found on CETL's website. Applicants also need to complete the Payroll Amendment Form, which has to be signed by the applicant's department chair.
- Mandy McGrew made a mention about ChatGPT and recommended we devote some time to this in a future PTFC meeting.
- James Stinchcomb reminded everyone about the Part-Time Faculty Awards. This is something that has to be initiated by your chair. Contact your chair or Dean's Office for information including the nomination process.
- James Stinchcomb reminded all attendees to visit the PTFC website for future meeting dates as well as links to past agendas and meeting minutes.
 - Our next meeting is February 27, 2023 at 3:30 PM
- Monique Richardson, Staff Senate representative, was present and will provide an update from Staff Senate at the February PTFC meeting.

VII. Adjournment

2



James Stinchcomb requested a motion to adjourn at 4:23 PM.

James Stinchcomb	President	Jstinch2@kennesaw.edu
Diana Honey	Vice President	dhoney@kennesaw.edu
Walt Justice	Secretary	jjusti15@kennesaw.edu
Michael Perry	Immediate Past President	mperry@kennesaw.edu
Christopher Thompson	Parliamentarian	cthom538@kennesaw.edu
Yvonne Wichman	Representative-at-Large	ywichman@kennesaw.edu